Celebration of the Sea: Participant reflection

At the end of a whirlwind week, Mitch, a music participant, reflects on what he will take away from Celebration of the Sea:

This week, as part of the Celebration of the Sea project, I have been learning and playing bass guitar. Before this project, I’d only ever picked up a bass guitar once and now in the space of 5 days, I know most of the chords. I’ve really enjoyed this project as it has not only enabled me to start on the road of learning to play an instrument, but also to unlock a passion for music that I never knew I had.

IMG_0471

As part of the project, we composed our own piece of music from scratch, we did this by literally picking numbers from 1-4. This was then the tempo for the piece. We then made a tune by putting different chords where the numbers were. At the end of the week, we performed our set pieces twice. Once on the Mincarlo, a trawler, and the second performance outside the Marina Theatre.

image1

Performing aboard the Mincarlo

I’ve loved this project. It has enabled me to meet new people and characters from all walks of life. At the beginning of the week, nobody knew each other and now we all get on like a house on fire! I’m going to miss this project now it’s over, but hopefully I’ll have the opportunity to do something like this again. Also, from this project, I’ve decided that I’m going to continue playing bass guitar. With a load of practice and some luck, I’ll be able to audition for the RPO in about 5 years time.


This project is supported using public funding by the National Lottery through Arts Council England and the Suffolk Community Foundation Michael Ben Howes Fund.

About Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Acknowledged as one of the UK’s most prestigious orchestras, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (RPO) enjoys an international reputation for bringing audiences worldwide first-class performances and the highest possible standards of music-making across a diverse range of musical repertoire. This was the vision of the Orchestra’s flamboyant founder Sir Thomas Beecham, whose legacy is maintained today as the Orchestra thrives under the exceptional direction of its new Artistic Director and Principal Conductor, Maestro Charles Dutoit.
This entry was posted in RPO resound and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

