Meet the Management: Chris Evans, Director of Press & Marketing

Chris image cropped

 

How did you get involved working at the RPO?

I knew the Orchestra very well whilst working for Warner Classics. The marketing job became vacant in 2004, so I applied and have never looked back!

What does your job entail?

In a nutshell: to present our concerts to our lovely patrons in the hope that they purchase tickets. I am very pleased (and grateful) that we have a loyal crowd of attendees. In addition, it is my responsibility to liaise with our venues to ensure that the RPO message is flying high!

Describe a typical working day for you (if there is such a thing!).

It usually starts at 6.30am when I get out of bed and walk the dog. A nice job in the summer, not so good during the winter! I then prepare for work, get the train into London from Hertfordshire and if all goes well I end up sitting at my desk by around 9.45am. At the moment, my typical day is mostly centered around our new season – collating the repertoire lists in readiness to brief the artwork. I also have four dedicated members of staff and a marketing volunteer to look after.

Tell us about some highlights of your time working here at the RPO.

There are many highlights, but I really get a kick out of seeing a busy auditorium. Of course I always hope for a full house, but reaching anything over 80% is when I feel that I have done my job well. A recent highlight was listening to Charles Dutoit conduct Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé at Southbank Centre. Maestro Dutoit is a master of this repertoire and this clearly showed during the performance. I also enjoy our many concerts at the Royal Albert Hall – so much so that it has even been known for me to get up and dance at the end of our Best of Broadway concert!!

Has the current financial climate affected the way your market concerts to audiences?

It certainly has. Marketing isn’t just about sending out a flyer and hoping for the best. It’s all about communicating to your audience via the many (many) platforms that are available to us now. The choice, especially in the digital area, is continually growing and over the last few years it has become a financial balancing act, juggling what is most effective.

How do you relax in your spare time?

You wouldn’t have thought so, but I have recently taken up going to the gym. I am also a very keen Manchester United supporter; although this season is proving a little difficult to watch, I have managed to visit Old Trafford with my son on a couple of occasions.

About Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Acknowledged as one of the UK’s most prestigious orchestras, the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra (RPO) enjoys an international reputation for bringing audiences worldwide first-class performances and the highest possible standards of music-making across a diverse range of musical repertoire. This was the vision of the Orchestra’s flamboyant founder Sir Thomas Beecham, whose legacy is maintained today as the Orchestra thrives under the exceptional direction of its new Artistic Director and Principal Conductor, Maestro Charles Dutoit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

